The Practitioner

20130715_160550

Cristina Gillis, Acupuncture Physician

I have been practicing acupuncture since the summer of 2009. I incorporate several different styles and philosophies of acupuncture into my treatments. I believe that listening is the most important attribute of any good healer; therefore, I listen to more than just a person’s words. I listen to the person’s body via wrist pulses and consider how all a person’s symptoms may interrelate before deciding on a treatment strategy. I believe that the mind-body connection is of enormous importance in improving overall health as well.

While I do not specialize in the treatment of any specific disorders, I especially enjoy working with people who suffer from internal disorders such as digestive problems or insomnia, depression or anxiety, and allergies and headaches.  I have also had success treating various kinds of pain including sciatica, shingles, and joint pain.

Education:

BA, English from the University of Florida, Gainesville, FL

MA Acupuncture from the Academy for Five Element Acupuncture, Gainesville, FL

Two years studying Traditional Chinese Medicine at  Pacific College, New York, NY

Certifications:

Clean Needle Technique

Chinese Herbs

Qi Gong (from Paul Fraser)